About Me

My photo
Mysteries, polka dots, California Rolls, TJ Maxx, cozy blankets, rainy days and getting the first spoonful of peanut butter out of the jar make me smile. Spiders, rude people, cold fingers and toes, baby leashes, people that don't wrap their packages before going to the Post Office, poison ivy and Math (pretty much all of it) make me want to scream. My perfect day would be spent with my wonderful husband and sweet girls- watching movies in our jammies! Of course, having the movie theater to ourselves would be great, too. Please pass the popcorn and M&M's.:) I am saved by the grace of God. He is my constant companion and hears my every prayer. What a blessing! I'd love to hear from you! Lori at toosillysisters@cox.net

Saturday, January 19, 2013

The Tutor's Daughter by Julie Klassen

My Thoughts:

I was delighted to get my hands on an advance copy of The Tutor's Daughter.  Within it's pages I ventured back in time to a place where love is a luxury, rarely indulged, gentlemen must marry to secure the future of their family and secrets must be kept- at all costs.  Emma Smallwood, the tutor's daughter, is a clever young lady whose future becomes uncertain as her father mourns the loss of his wife.  Through her memories we learn of the Weston family whose sons attended her father's academy. Emma contacts the family and discovers they are in need of a tutor for their younger sons.  Would John Smallwood be willing to come to Cornwall and teach them?  

This is where the book gets veeeerrrryyyy interesting.  

I want to tell you so badly what happens!  But alas, I cannot.  I will tell you that there are secrets, oh yes, there are secrets!  Strange noises are heard late at night, the pianoforte is played when all are in bed- but by whom?  Love letters appear, private journals disappear and there are rumors of a ghost that roams the halls.  Who can be trusted?  The stormy Cornwall coast with it's history of shipwrecks and pirates will have you shivering with anticipation- or is it dread?

The Tutor's Daughter is a suspenseful pot of tea, filled to the brim with intrigue, secrets, history and deception.  The Weston brothers kept me guessing until the very end as to their intentions and Emma Smallwood's memories running through the story were delightful.  Lizzie Henshaw, Mrs. Weston's ward, was an interesting wild card of a character that added a clever twist to the puzzle.  The Chapel of the Rock "incident" was one I won't soon forget! 

I wish I could tell you more but I don't want to ruin it for you!  Brew some tea, snuggle up with a blanket and treat yourself The Tutor's Daughter.  It's a must read for for fans of Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights!

Filled with page-turning suspense, The Tutor’s Daughter takes readers to the windswept Cornwall coast–a place infamous for shipwrecks and superstitions–where danger lurks, faith is tested, and romance awaits.
Emma Smallwood, determined to help her widowed father when his boarding school fails, accompanies him to the cliff-top manor of a baronet and his four sons. But soon after they arrive and begin teaching the two younger boys, mysterious things begin to happen. Who does Emma hear playing the pianoforte at night, only to find the music room empty? And who begins sneaking into her bedchamber, leaving behind strange mementoes?
The baronet’s older sons, Phillip and Henry Weston, wrestle with problems–and secrets–of their own. They both remember the studious Miss Smallwood from their days at her father’s academy. But now one of them finds himself unexpectedly drawn to her…
When suspicious acts escalate, can Emma figure out which brother to blame and which to trust with her heart?
Purchase a copy here.


Julie Klassen loves all things Jane–Jane Eyre and Jane Austen. A graduate of the University of Illinois, Julie worked in publishing for sixteen years and now writes full time. She has won the Christy Award: Historical Romance for The Silent Governess (2010) and The Girl in the Gatehouse (2011) which also won the 2010 Midwest Book Award for Genre Fiction. Julie and her husband have two sons and live in a suburb of St. Paul, Minnesota.
Find out more about Julie at http://www.julieklassen.com/.

Julie is celebrating by giving away one of the new Paperwhite Kindles, Downton Abbey (season 3) and hosting a fun Author Chat Party on Facebook. (January 31st)


One fortunate winner will receive:

  • A Kindle Paperwhite

  • Downton Abbey, Season 3

  • A Julie Klassen library (The Tutor’s Daughter, The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, The Girl in the Gatehouse, and The Silent Governess)

Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on January 30th. Winner will be announced at "The Tutor's Daughter Author Chat Party on January 31st. Connect with Julie, get a sneak peek of her next book, try your hand at the trivia contest, and chat with readers just like you. There will also be great giveaways - gift certificates, books and season 3 of Downton Abbey!

So grab your copy of The Tutor's Daughter and join Julie on the evening of the January 31st for a chance to connect with Julie and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book - don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun, RSVP todayTell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 31st!

*I received a copy of The Tutor's Daughter from Litfuse in exchange for my honest opinion.  No other compensation was given to me.*

No comments: